How to Deepen Your Meditation Practice with the Seven Spiritual Laws

How to Deepen Your Meditation Practice with the Seven Spiritual Laws
Meditation is one of the most reliable tools to manage stress, improve relationships, fulfill your desires, and connect with your Spirit. Although it’s relatively simple to practice, your intellect can often make it more complicated than it needs to be.

One way to see meditation in a new light is to look at it through the lens of the Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. The Seven Spiritual Laws represent the way in which the unmanifest becomes manifest, and can serve as the operating system that’s running behind the scenes in your life. These principles can be used as the instruction manual for living a happy, fulfilling, abundant, and profoundly spiritual life.

Each of the Seven Spiritual Laws is deeply woven into the practice of meditation. By exploring this relationship, you can better understand your practice, which will deepen as your awareness expands.

1. The Law of Pure Potentiality

The first spiritual law is essentially a reminder of your true nature as a soul—an outcropping of the field of unbounded awareness. Like waves or eddies in the ocean, you are an expression of that infinite field of conscious intelligence, creativity, and bliss.

This law is the governing principle of your meditation practice that takes awareness beyond the level of the mind and into the Gap between your thoughts, which is the field of pure potentiality. The process of meditation is to enter into that level of existence and come face to face with your true identity—Spirit.

2. The Law of Giving and Receiving

The second law awakens you to the flow of energy and information in the universe and in your life. Energy doesn’t sit still—it needs to move. By keeping that energy flowing through giving and receiving, you nourish the entire universe.

In meditation, this law manifests by allowing your thoughts to come and go without resistance. The flow of thoughts during meditation is the current of life energy as it comes and goes through awareness. Allow sensations, sounds, and other thoughts to effortlessly drift by without obstructing the current or getting attached to a particular thought.

3. The Law of Karma or Cause and Effect

While the Law of Giving and Receiving is about keeping the energy of life in motion, the third law focuses on the quality of that energy. Karma means “action” and also implies the consequences of that action. The more positive and uplifting the action—thought, word, and deed—for everyone involved with that choice, the more positive and life-affirming the effect of that cause will be.

The Law of Karma encourages you to make conscious choices that nourish others and yourself, leading to fulfilling and healing results. Unconscious choices, on the other hand, lead to less than evolutionary and healing consequences.

During meditation, by choosing to not indulge in the meaning of your thoughts, you avoid the karmic conditioning that binds you to predictable and habitual patterns of thought and behavior. As you repeatedly enter the stillness between your thoughts, you transcend your karma. Like repeatedly washing a dirty cloth in a stream, the stains are gently lifted away until no impurities remain.

4. The Law of Least Effort

The fourth law teaches that the intelligence of nature functions with effortless ease. It is carefree, harmonious, and loving. It is the principle of “do less, accomplish more” as seen in the flights of birds, the growing of grass, and the swimming of fish.

The Law of Least Effort is about the economy of motion in your activities. This is the central theme of your practice of meditation. Accessing the non-local field of Spirit is dependent on the least amount of effort. Force and struggle cannot open the door to higher states of awareness.

If at any time during your meditation you feel as if you’re struggling, forcing, or concentrating, soften your focus on your breath or mantra. This allows the process to be light, innocent, and effortless so you may be carried deeper into stillness.

5. The Law of Intention and Desire

This principle outlines the mechanics for the expression of everything in the material universe. Intention is a force of nature that contains its own infinite organizing power. In the same way an apple seed contains the potential for bushels of apples or even an entire forest, your desires and intentions hold the same manifestation blueprint through which they can fulfill themselves.

Becoming aware of your desires and intentions is akin to choosing the seeds you wish to sow. In meditation, you plant those seeds into the fertile field of pure consciousness. Nourished with regular visits to the Gap, you water your desires and allow them to blossom when the season is right.

6. The Law of Detachment

For any desire to manifest, you must be willing to let go of your attachment to the outcome. The sixth law reminds you to not be too rigidly attached to the way you want things to be in your life. Embrace uncertainty and step into the unknown. In doing so, you experience the freedom from your past conditioning and open the door to unlimited possibilities.

In your meditation practice, this law helps you let go of expectations and attachments to a specific result. Each meditation experience is unique and provides exactly what your mind and body need at that time. Wanting it to be something other than what it is binds you to the notion of an “ideal” meditation and robs you of the gifts of the present moment.

7. The Law of Dharma

The final law teaches that you are here in this life for a purpose—that you have a unique gift to give the world in your own special way. There are no spare parts in the universe and you perform an irreplaceable role in the play of the cosmos.

The root word of dharma means “to uphold.” In this sense, by fulfilling your dharma, you are supporting the entire world. It is vitally important that you discover your true purpose and perform it in service of the world.

As it relates to meditation, the mind’s dharma is to expand into higher states of awareness. It is the destiny of the mind to experience Atma Darshan (glimpsing the soul), Cosmic Consciousness, Divine Consciousness, and ultimately Unity Consciousness as part of its path of awakening.

By letting go into the present moment, you allow your mind to express its dharma to the fullest potential. This is the true and highest purpose of meditation—the expansion of consciousness.

By regularly reviewing and integrating the Seven Spiritual Laws of Success in this way, you open the door to a broader experience of the principles along with an ever-deepening meditation practice.

Find your purpose, tune into the voice of your soul, and develop practices for total well-being with our self-paced online course, Living in Awareness. Learn More